Stop waking me up I’m trying to sleep

October 27, 2014

IMG_4573.JPG

The digitizer on this iPad has some brain dead spots, it seems, where Pencil in Paper loses its brain. Either it’s Pencil, some sensitive coding in the app or the digitizer, or memory, or processor speed on this 3G iPad. So the black line work was done in Paper with the new fancy stuff turned off, and I dropped the image into Sketches to do the colouring. Easier than fussing with the non responsive digitizer.

I dropped a small! palm sized screwdriver from a very short distance onto the screen this last Spring. Must have hit just right. Cracked the glass. Had it replaced. The screen responds to all the finger based touches expected of it. It’s just very fussy about the centre when you want to generate fine or more specific stylus based interactions in a drawing program.

I might normally have tried Procreate for the colouring work. Wanted to see if I could use Sketches to insert the image. It’s light and quick, and if I wanted to play with filters or some more tricky layering, Procreate would be the choice, or maybe Pixelmator, which I haven’t used much yet.

Don’t yet like the tool and colour selection process in Sketches. Procreate requires a bit of back and forth and some planning. It doesn’t jump up spontaneously like Paper or Sketches. Even that has slowed somewhat on this iPad. Pixelmator’s brushes are a bit jerky on this 3G iPad. Not unexpected. And it seems also to be more menu driven, requiring a bit of stop and start in the process.

2 Responses to “Stop waking me up I’m trying to sleep”

  1. erikaviktor Says:

    I love it! I just did an interview with cartoonist Steve Barr and went a-searching for other cartoonists. This came up. Blue kitty! Great!

    Like

  2. dougrogers Says:

    Well, thanks for finding me.

    Like


Leave a Reply

